World Leaders Congratulate Narendra Modi As He Wins Second Term As Indian Prime Minister

India, the world’s largest democracy has voted Naendra Modi again as he begins his second term as the Indian Prime Minister. The election which was held in seven phases over 39 days ended on May 19.

The results of the election were announced yesterday with Narendra Modi’s party Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winning 302 seats out of the 542 seats polled. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP has won 351 seats out of the 542, which is about 65% of the total number of seats.

This resounding victory has been congratulated by World Leaders including President Donald Trump who tweeted, “Congratulations to Prime Minister @NarendraModi and his BJP party on their BIG election victory! Great things are in store for the US-India partnership with the return of PM Modi at the helm. I look forward to continuing our important work together!”

Russian President Vladimir Putin, Chinese President Xi Jinping, Canadian President Justin Trudeau, Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Kind of Bhutan, Afghan President Ashraf Ghani, and many other World Leaders either tweeted or called up Prime Minister Modi to congratulate him.

Sukanta Jana