India steps into nationwide elections – 7 phases from April 11 to May 19

Finally the much waited elections dates have been announced in India. Election Commission said the upcoming 19th Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. It will be followed by counting of votes on May 23.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking his second term counting on the achievements of government and promises to do more for Indians in the next five years.

Modi won the 2014 elections with landslide victory and quickly became popular among Indians in the country and abroad too. He is still being figured as the most popular leader in the world’s largest democracy.

In past five years India has continued to grow robustly but the primary question still arises as to where are the jobs for young generation. A report reveals unemployment rate in February was 7.2 percent, which is up from 5 percent in the same month a year ago. In villages distress among farmers could be seen.

However, the government received a boost following Pulwama attack in Kashmir sector by Jaish-e-Mohammed terror outfit on February 14. India retaliated with air strikes in Pakistan occupied Kashmir claiming training camps of JeM were targeted.

India has 29 states and 7 union territories. People will be voting for 545 seats for the lower house (Lok Sabha) of parliament. In 2014 Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party won 282 seats, largest majority by a single part in thirty years.

Paul Linus