16 states challenges Trump over national emergency

A total of sixteen states have challenged President Trump in court over the use of national emergency powers. Attorney general of New York and California has filed a lawsuit in the Ninth Circuit claiming the president has “veered the country toward a constitutional crisis of his own making.”

The litigation is seeking an injunction to prevent shifting of funds from military construction to wall construction on the US-Mexico border.

It seems Trump had predicted the action to come across and last week he slammed the Ninth Circuit as politically biased and disgraceful.

On Friday he added the government will be sued in the Ninth Circuit after a national emergency is signed.

The lawsuit asks court to declare actions towards national emergency as illegal arguing the president showed a “flagrant disregard of fundamental separation of powers principles engrained in the United States Constitution.”

The states argue federal funds can be spent of defense instead of wasting it in the construction of a border wall.

New York Attorney General Lelitia James said, “Declaring a National Emergency when one does not exist is immoral and illegal… We will not stand for this abuse of power and will fight using every tool at our disposal.”

The states are Maine, California, New York, Delaware, Oregon, Hawaii, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Virginia, Nevada, New Jersey and New Mexico.

Paul Linus